The state of Florida offers several kinds of licenses based on your residency. Given a large number of catastrophic claims that emerge in the state, people from all over the U.S. tend to apply for an adjuster license in Florida. We have provided a comprehensive guide for you to apply for the appropriate adjuster license and work as an insurance adjuster in the state of Florida.
Requirements for a Resident applicant:
Some basic requirements in order to apply for the license remain the same for all applicants. These include the minimum age criteria which is 18 years, being a legal U.S citizen or a naturalized U.S citizen with proper work authorization and most importantly, having no criminal background whatsoever.
The process of obtaining an adjuster license involves passing the adjuster state exam to obtain the 6–20 Resident All-Lines Adjuster License. Now, if an applicant takes a course such as the Accredited Claims Adjuster Designation(Adjuster License) course, he/she will be exempted from taking the state exam.
If you are a non-resident of Florida holding an adjuster license for a different state and wish to apply for an adjuster license in Forida then the process changes a bit.
For non-residents, who hold an adjuster license in their state, the only requirement is to apply for a reciprocal license for Florida. The 7–20 Non-Resident All-Lines Adjuster License is the one that should be applied for. An applicant, however, should make sure that their home state has a reciprocal agreement with the state of Florida.
Once all the satisfying requirements are met, one needs to apply for the license. This involves submitting the appropriate paperwork and paying the fee. Make sure that while applying, you are aware of the kind of license you require in order to handle claims in Florida.
After selecting the appropriate license, submitting fingerprints is the next step. Create a profile on MyProfile for your application. Applicants must register for LiveScan and submit their fingerprints electronically at through IdentoGo.
The next step is to submit Proof of Citizenship document for further verification.
Once your license is issued, it can be viewed on your MyProfile page.
Maintaining your License:
Once your license is issued, maintaining it is vital. Florida requires 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years. The 24 hours need to include the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update.
It is essential always to stay updated, whether it is professionally or experientially, especially if you wish to handle catastrophe claims in Florida.
We hope this guide answers all your questions regarding adjuster license requirements in Florida.